2011 Nobel Prize Ceremony

This years Nobel Prize’s are announced and there will be a ceremony to commemorate the winners. Tomorow Ralph M. Steinman will receive the honor posthumously from King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden.

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011 was divided, one half jointly to Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann “for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity” and the other half to Ralph M. Steinman “for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity”.

Read more about the Ceremony

Read more about the award winners

“The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011″. Nobelprize.org. 9 Dec 2011 http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/medicine/laureates/2011/

From left to right: Bruce A. Beutler, Jules A. Hoffman, Ralph M. Steinman

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>